Skip to content

Slut Shaming in Popular Culture Pt. 2

September 9, 2013

So first I must apologize for how late this blog post is. This past week and a half I went on vacation with the guy I’m seeing and started this semester of university. My computer is also crashing and I lost the first draft of this post.

I’m very sorry about that.

Now without further ado we will continue last weeks post with part two.

So if you missed last weeks post you can check it out by clicking right here. I gave my opinions of the VMA performance. If you missed out and are lazy as I am here is a quick summary of last week.

I’m not saying I liked the performance. I’m not saying it was well done. I thought it to be absolutely horrible and unoriginal. My problem with the whole debacle stemmed from the fact that Miley Cyrus took all the flack and blame for the performance and Robin Thicke took none.

A 20-year-old woman was hailed slutty and trashy for dancing on a 36 year old man while the 36-year-old man sang questionable lyrics. The 36-year-old man has no repercussions. In fact his song is a top hit. I have a huge problem with that. Now you can say that in this case the woman was a role model and had a standard to uphold.

I ask why doesn’t that same standard apply to the man?

Let’s step away from the pop star glam of the VMA awards and strip this down to the bare bones. Lets apply this in a real world sense.

Say you have a 20 year-old woman and she is sleeping/dating/fucking on a regular basis a man 10+ years her senior. What are the terms generally applied to her by her peers?

Whore. Trashy. Daddy issues. Gold digger. Slut.

imgres

I googled gold digger and this is the first image that came up.

What would the man be called by his peers?

Hero, player. He would be exalted by his peers.

This was the first image google found for me when I searched for player.

This was the first image google found for me when I searched for player.

Now some might say that it’s the same way when the gender roles are reversed. Lets look at that. What does culture call an older woman who dates a younger man?

Cougar.

While not the first image this was on the first page when I googled cougar.

While not the first image this was on the first page when I googled cougar.

What is the man called?

Does our culture have a word for this? When I googled the phrase “a man who sleeps with older women is called” all of the search results were for older women being called cougars.

So why is this a big deal? Why does it matter?

There is a double standard and that double standard makes it hard for a young woman to take ownership and control over her own sexual identity. It makes it socially unacceptable for a young woman to explore and create her sexual identity and this creates a sexual inequality. It allows for slut shaming.

Well why is slut shaming bad? It creates a paradox for young women. I think the image right below illustrates it very well.

i-see-so-ecard

 

Young women are thrown so many conflicting ideas about their own sexuality that the process of discovering that sexuality and sexual identity is stifled while boys are still given a blank check. Women are then held accountable for not only their own actions but the reactions of their peers- while at the same time their peers have no accountability. This is why I get angry when I see two adults performing a awful performance but only the woman involved receives widespread backlash in popular culture. Both parties are at fault for poor taste and both should be held accountable. Lets stop the slut shaming and get back to working on more important things.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Even though you may not think it, given the stuff I write about. I totally agree with what you’re saying here.

    • I dont mind sexual jokes as long as you make them about both genders. Yay equality!!! I’ve checked out some of your stuff and I think its excellently written! Cant wait to read more. Maybe on this topic also? *Wink wink*

      Thanks so much for the comment!

Leave a Reply

